The Steering Council is set up and operates in accordance with the rules included in the SIM document “Rules of Order”.

The SIM Council comprises eleven (11) members.     

The Steering Council shall plan and coordinate the implementation of all SIM activities.

– At least three months before the completion of the offices, the Steering Council calls for nominating candidates for: President of the Technical Committee, Professional Development Coordinator, President of the Quality Systems Task Force (QSTF), and Project Coordinator. The selection of the winning candidate is based on the CVs of the applicants.

– Establishes working groups for specific tasks.

– Approves the creation of new technical Metrology Working Groups (MGW).

– Approves the presidents for the technical working groups.

– Applies and enforces the resolutions of the General Assembly. 

– Approves an annual budget for SIM activities.

– Approves an annual financial report to be subsequently submitted to the General Assembly for further approval.

–  Recommends the agreements to be signed by SIM.

– Designates members to represent SIM in conferences and meetings with other organizations, among others.

– Recommends admission and termination of members before the General Assembly.

– Reviews SIM´s proposals for their submission to potential funding agencies.



SIM President  – Claire Saundry
[email protected] 
National Institute of Standards and Technology (NIST) 
100 Bureau Drive, Stop 1090, Gaithersburg, MD 20899-1090- USA 
Tel: +1 (301) 975- 3069

Former SIM President -Hector Laiz
[email protected]
Instituto Nacional de Tecnología Industrial (INTI) 
Colectora Avenida Gral Paz 5445. Parque Tecnológico Miguelete 
San Martín, Provincia de Buenos Aires, Argentina 
Tel: +54 11 4724- 6413 

Project Coordinator – Javier Arias
[email protected]
Centro Nacional de Metrología Panamá (CENAMEP AIP)
Apartado 0843-01353, Edificio 206, Ciudad del Saber, Clayton,
Ancón, Panamá, Rep. de Panamá, C. A.
Tel.: +507 517-3100

Deputy Project Coordinator – Magdalena Navarro
[email protected]
National Institute of Standards and Technology (NIST) 
100 Bureau Drive, Stop 1090, Gaithersburg, MD 20899-1090- USA 
Tel: +1 (301) 975- 3069

Technical Committee Chair – José Salvador Echeverría Villagómez
[email protected]
Centro Nacional de Metrología (CENAM)  
km 4.5 Carretera a Los Cués, Municipio El Marqués, Querétaro, México
Tel: +52 442 2110 500  

Deputy Technical Committee Chair –  Lisa Karam 
[email protected]
National Institute of Standards and Technology (NIST) 
100 Bureau Drive, Stop 8400, Gaithersburg, MD 20899-8400- USA 
Tel: +1 (301) 975- 5561

Professional Development Coordinator – Rodrigo Costa-Felix
[email protected]
Instituto Nacional de Metrologia, Qualidade e Tecnologia (INMETRO)  
Av. N. Sra. das Gracas, 50 – Xerem
Duque de Caxias – Rio de Janeiro- Brasil
Tel: +55-21-2679 9720

Quality Systems Task Force Chair – Sally Bruce
[email protected]
National Institute of Standards and Technology
100 Bureau Drive
Gaithersburg, MD – USA 
Tel: +1 301-975-2323

SIM Executive Secretary– Claudia Santo
[email protected]


ANDIMET – Jose Dajes
[email protected]
Instituto Nacional de Calidad
Calle La Prosa 150, San Borja, Lima 41, Perú
Tel: (511) 640 8820

CAMET – José Trejo
[email protected]
Belize Bureau of Standards (BBS)
Power Lane Belmopan, Belize, C.A. P.O. Box 430
Tel: (501)-822-0446/47

CARIMET – Erica Caruth

[email protected]
Trinidad and Tobago Bureau of Standards (TTBS)
1-2 Century Drive, Trincity Industrial Estate, Macoya, Tunapuna
Tel.: 662-8827, 662-3132, 662-3841, 645-6222, 612-0279 Ext: 2300

NORAMET- Georgette Macdonald
[email protected]
National Research Council Canada / Conseil national de recherches Canada
1411 Oxford Street, Halifax, Nova Scotia B3H 3Z1
Tel: 613-990-6808

SURAMET – Daniel Volpe 
[email protected]
Laboratorio Tecnológico del Uruguay (LATU)
Edificio Central, Av. Italia 6201, 11500 Montevideo, Departamento de Montevideo, Uruguay
Tel: 598 2601.37.24 int 1323