EURAMET Report to SIM

Version 2023-10-13

SIM General Assembly 6th – 10th November 2023, Asuncion, Paraguay



1. General information

Since the last SIM General Assembly in the Autumn 2022, the most relevant developments in EURAMET have been:

• The organisation of the **17**th **General Assembly (GA)**, that took place as a hybrid meeting from 30th May to 2nd June, 2023 in Tallinn, Estonia. It gathered 117 people involved in metrology activities: EURAMET Delegates, TC and EMN Chairs, BIPM, OIML, RMOs (including SIM), WELMEC, EUROLAB as well as industrial and research stakeholders.

The most relevant EURAMET matters and changes related to the CIPM MRA were:

- The acceptance of Ukraine (ME) and Georgia (GEOSTM) applications for membership in EURAMET on 4th November 2022. Both countries got the associate status of Corresponding Applicant until they fulfil the criteria of full members, and transferred their CIPM MRA related activities to EURAMET as of 1st February 2023.
- The acceptance of the National Institute of Airborne Acoustic Metrology NIAAM (United Kingdom) as the 77th **Designated Institute** in EURAMET.
- The name change on 19th April 2023 of the National Metrology Institute of Slovenia changed name on 19th April 2023 from *Ministry of Economic Development and Technology Metrology Institute of the Republic of Slovenia*" to "Ministry of the Economy, Tourism and Sport Metrology Institute of the Republic of Slovenia".

Additionally:

- Dolores del Campo (CEM, Spain) was elected as **Chairperson elect**, to succeed Jörn Stenger as EURAMET Chairperson after GA 2024.
- EURAMET Delegates elected 3 additional members of the Board of Directors, Hanspeter Andres (METAS, Switzerland), Maroš Kamenský, (SMU, Slovakia) and Michela Sega (INRIM, Italy) (please see also the 2nd Chapter for further details of the BoD members).
- EURAMET publishes guidelines to improve harmonization practices. All guidelines are available for download as PDF version (https://www.euramet.org/publications-media-centre). Guidelines n. 26 on the Calibration of Automatic Weighing Instruments (TC-M) and EURAMET Guide 3 on the Procedures and Review Criteria for CMCs were the latest documents published.



Dr. Jörn Stenger will represent **EURAMET** at the **SIM General Assembly 2023**. His details are given in the table below:

Name	Address	Phone / E-mail	Main responsibilities		
Head of Delegation					
Jörn Stenger EURAMET Chairperson	PTB Bundesallee 100 DE-38116 Braunschweig Germany	+49 531 592 6010 chairperson@euramet.org	Chairperson		

2. Governance & Secretariat

The governance of EURAMET is led by the **Board of Directors**. Its current members of are listed in the table below.

Name	e-mail
Jörn Stenger (Chairperson), PTB, Germany	chairperson@euramet.org
Dolores del Campo (Chairperson-elect), CEM, Spain	ddelcampo@cem.es
Miruna Dobre (Vice-Chairperson GA), SMD, Belgium	vicechairperson@euramet.org
Maguelonne Chambon (Vice-Chairperson EMPIR / Partnership), LNE, France	empirchair@euramet.org
Hanspeter Andres, METAS, Switzerland	hanspeter.andres@metas.ch
Hans Arne Frøystein JV, Norway	Hans.Arne.Froystein@euramet.org
Isabel Araújo Godinho, IPQ, Portugal	igodinho@ipq.pt
Maroš Kamenský, SMU, Slovakia	maros.kamensky@smu.gov.sk
Michela Sega, INRIM, Italy	m.sega@inrim.it
Aigar Vaigu, Metrosert, Estonia	aigar.vaigu@metrosert.ee

EURAMET has a permanent Secretariat located in Braunschweig, Germany.

EURAMET e.V. Phone: +49 531 592 1960
Bundesallee 100 E-mail: secretariat@euramet.org
D-38116 Braunschweig https://www.euramet.org

EURAMET maintains a Management Support Unit (MSU) located in Teddington, UK, which is responsible for the management of the joint research programmes (EMPIR & European Partnership on Metrology).

Both teams are led by the General Secretary, Mikko Merimaa (mikko.merimaa@euramet.org).



3. Technical Committee Chairs

The list of current **Technical Committee Chairs** is given in the table below. For more details, please see the EURAMET website.

Committee	Chairperson	Institute, Country	e-mail address
TC-AUV	Enver Sadikoglu	UME, Turkey	enver.sadikoglu@tubitak.gov.tr
TC-EM	Damir Ilić	FER-PEL, Croatia	damir.ilic@fer.hr
TC-F	Erik Smits	VSL, NL	fsmits@vsl.nl
TC-IM	Robert Gunn	NPL, UK	robert.gunn@npl.co.uk
TC-IR	Jacco de Pooter	VSL, NL	jdpooter@vsl.nl
TC-L	Sten Bergstrand	RISE, Sweden	sten.bergstrand@ri.se
TC-M	Zoltan Zelenka	BEV, Austria	Zoltan.Zelenka@bev.gv.at
TC-MC (QM)	Teemu Naykki	MIKES-SYKE, Finland	teemu.naykki@syke.fi
TC-PR	Joaquin Campos-Acosta	IO-CSIC, Spain	joaquin.campos@csic.es
TC-Q	Davor Zvizdić	DZM, Croatia	davor.zvizdic@fsb.hr
TC-T	Steffen Rudtsch	PTB, Germany	steffen.rudtsch@ptb.de
TC-TF	Joseph Achkar	LNE SYRTE, France	joseph.achkar@obspm.fr

4. Membership update

The actual number of **Members and Associates in EURAMET** is as follows:

- 39 Members (NMIs), with ME (Ukraine) and GEOSTM (Georgia) as Corresponding Applicants
- 78 Associates 77 Designated Institutes (A-DIs) & JRC

5. Status of NMI quality systems and review process

The last EURAMET TC-Q meeting was held as a hybrid meeting on 27th – 30th March 2023 (METAS, Switzerland). It was preceded by a EURAMET TC-Q Steering Committee Meeting on 26th March 2023.

All invited institutes who made presentations about Quality Management Systems fulfilling requirements of ISO/IEC 17025:2017 and ISO 17034 (if applicable) were accepted.

The EURAMET TC-Q steering Committee reviewed 106 annual reports from 35 countries and one international organisations, including those with a QMS to be re-evaluated during the meeting.

TC-Q agreed on a second TC-Q meeting (online extraordinary) to be organised in the 4th quarter of 2023 would GEOSTM successfully pass the on-site visit by peers coordinated by INRIM (Italy).