SIM General Assembly 19-20 November 2020, Online meeting



### 1. General information

Since the last SIM General Assembly (GA), the most relevant matters of EURAMET were:

- European Metrology Networks (EMNs):
  - The first 6 EMNs\*, established by EURAMET two years ago are developing as planned. In synergy with its 12 Technical Committees (TCs) they support the development of EURAMET strategy for Metrology in Europe.

\* **<u>namely</u>**: Climate and Ocean Observation, Energy Gases, Mathematics and Statistics, Quantum Technologies, Smart Electricity Grids, Traceability in Laboratory Medicine

- At the 14<sup>th</sup> EURAMET GA, a seventh EMN was approved, promoting Smart Specialisation in Northern Europe.
- The 14<sup>th</sup> EURAMET GA was planned to take place from 25<sup>th</sup> to 28<sup>th</sup> May 2020 in Vienna, Austria. Due to the pandemic, this was not possible, and an online GA was held on 25<sup>th</sup> and 26<sup>th</sup> May. The GA was organised as a Delegates Only session, in order to take the necessary decisions and elections. Some time was also spent for short strategic discussions on topics including the proposed European Partnership for Metrology, development of the EMNs and Digitalisation, following up the work of the TC-IM working group for digitalisation. The usual Plenary session with a broader participation and more thorough discussions had to be postponed.
- The 15<sup>th</sup> GA is planned to take place from 7<sup>th</sup> to 10<sup>th</sup> June, 2021 in Vienna, Austria. In the event the pandemic lasts longer, EURAMET is planning an alternative online meeting. Virtual sessions will be organised to allow "business as usual".
- E-training platform: EURAMET is working on the development of an e-training platform to complete the capacity building tools and instruments it has developed so far. In the event of any adverse situations (like covid19, Eyjafjallajökull, etc.) this platform represents an alternative to traditional training instruments. It supports both continuation and extension of EURAMET knowledge transfer mission among its members.
- The preparations for the "European Partnership on Metrology", the follow-up programme on the European Metrology Programme for Innovation and Research (EMPIR), are progressing as planned.

The most relevant EURAMET matters and changes related to the CIPM MRA were:

- ROTH + CO AG, stopped being the Designated Institute in the field of thermometry for Switzerland at the end of March 2020. From then on, the temperature activities are covered by METAS.
- EURAMET has been in contact with the JRC to clarify their future intentions for cooperation with EURAMET. This followed their termination of associate membership and consequential greyingout of CMCs, in QM and IR, in July 2018. In October 2019, the JRC has confirmed that it will join EURAMET as an associate again to take fully part in the technical cooperation in EURAMET TC-Q, TC-MC and TC-IR. At the 14<sup>th</sup> EURAMET GA (May 2020), the JRC was admitted again as an Associate of EURAMET. Following that positive outcome, activities are being run to reinstate CMCs and develop synergies between EURAMET members and the JRC.



 BIPM and EURAMET organised a workshop from 17<sup>th</sup> to 19<sup>th</sup> February 2020 on KCDB 2.0. The objective of the workshop was to equip EURAMET TC Chairs and TC/WG members (colleagues who actually coordinate the review and act as reviewers of CMCs) with the necessary knowledge to use the 'optimised' CIPM MRA and the KCDB 2.0. This will support that EURAMET has a sufficient number of experts in each TC that will be able to use KCDB 2.0 or/and explain this to their colleagues, and further support the CIPM MRA.

The **EURAMET delegation to the JCRB** that attended the 42<sup>nd</sup> (online) Meeting from 8<sup>th</sup> to 10<sup>th</sup> September 2020 is given in the table below:

Name	Address	Phone / E-mail	Main responsibilities		
Head of Delegation					
Hans Arne Frøystein EURAMET Chairperson	JV Fetveien 99 2007 Kjeller Norway	+47 64 84 84 84 chairperson@euramet.org	Chairperson		
EURAMET Member Service Manager					
Julien Vuillemin-Toledo	EURAMET e.V. Bundesallee 100 DE-38116 Braunschweig Germany	+49 531 592 1960 julien.vuillemin@euramet.org	Member support in general and CIPM MRA related matters KCs and SCs		
EURAMET TC-Quality Chair					
Kai Stoll-Malke	PTB Bundesallee 100 DE-38116 Braunschweig Germany	+49 531 592 8330 kai.stoll-malke@ptb.de	TC-Q Chair BoD Standing Invitee		
EURAMET TC- Interdisciplinary Metrology Chair					
Miruna Dobre	SMD Boulevard du Roi Albert II 16 1000 Brussels Belgium	+32 2 277 8329 Miruna.Dobre@economie.fgov.be	TC-IM Chair BoD Standing Invitee		

## 2. Governance & Secretariat

EURAMET has a **permanent Secretariat** located in Braunschweig, Germany.

EURAMET e.V. Bundesallee 100 D-38116 Braunschweig Phone: +49 531 592 1960 E-mail: <u>secretariat@euramet.org</u> <u>https://www.euramet.org</u>

EURAMET maintains a Management Support Unit (MSU) located in Teddington, UK, which is responsible for the management of the joint research programme (EMPIR).

The current members of the Board of Directors are listed in the table after.



Name	e-mail
Hans Arne Frøystein (Chairperson), JV, Norway	chairperson@euramet.org
Jörn Stenger (Chair-elect), PTB, Germany	joern.stenger@ptb.de
Maria Luisa Rastello (Vice-Chairperson GA), INRIM, Italy	vicechairperson@euramet.org
Erkki Ikonen (Vice-Chairperson EMPIR), VTT, Finland	empirchair@euramet.org
Aigar Vaigu, Metrosert, Estonia	aigar.vaigu@metrosert.ee
Robert Edelmaier, BEV, Austria	robert.edelmaier@bev.gv.at
Isabel Araújo Godinho, IPQ, Portugal	igodinho@ipq.pt
Gregor Dudle, METAS, Switzerland	gregor.dudle@metas.ch
JT Janssen, NPL, United Kingdom	jt.janssen@npl.co.uk
Jan Johansson, RISE, Sweden	jan.johansson@ri.se

# 3. Technical Committee Chairs

The list of current Technical Committee Chairs is given in the table below.

Committee	Chairperson	Institute, Country	e-mail address
TC-AUV	Stephen Robinson	NPL, UK	stephen.robinson@npl.co.uk
TC-EM	Markus Zeier	METAS, Switzerland	markus.zeier@metas.ch
TC-F	Isabelle Care	LNE-CETIAT, France	isabelle.care@cetiat.fr
TC-IM	Miruna Dobre	SMD, Belgium	Miruna.Dobre@economie.fgov.be
TC-IR	Jacco de Pooter	VSL, NL	jdpooter@vsl.nl
TC-L	Emilio Prieto	CEM, Spain	eprieto@cem.es
TC-M	Fredrik Arrhén	RISE, Sweden	fredrik.arrhen@ri.se
TC-MC	Sophie Vaslin Reimann	LNE, France	sophie.vaslin-reimann@Ine.fr
TC-PR	Stefan Kück	PTB, Germany	stefan.kueck@ptb.de
TC-Q	Kai Stoll-Malke	PTB, Germany	kai.stoll-malke@ptb.de
TC-T	Dolores del Campo	CEM, Spain	ddelcampo@cem.es
TC-TF	Peter Whibberley	NPL, UK	peter.whibberley@npl.co.uk

Despite being initially slowed done by the pandemic, the activities of TCs are now back to normal.

### 4. Membership update

The actual number of Members and Associates in EURAMET is as follows:

- 38 Members (NMIs)
- 78 Associates 77 Designated Institutes (A-DIs) & JRC

### 5. TC-Q annual meeting and review of Quality Management Systems

Due to Covid-19, the 15<sup>th</sup> TC-Q annual meeting was held online from 21<sup>st</sup> to 23<sup>rd</sup> October 2020, instead of 22<sup>nd</sup> to 24<sup>th</sup> April 2020 at METAS, Switzerland. It was attended by 69 experts from 36 countries and international organisations together with invited observers from SIM (Sally Bruce) and GULFMET (Asma Alhosani). This meeting was the opportunity to discuss Members' and Associates' QMS and related matters.